O’Haras pub at 9/11

It all started as a normal day. I was serving customers as usual, and the mood in the bar was great. We had this guest from Ireland, who told us stories from Saint Patrick’s Day, when a bunch of people suddenly rushed into the bar. I especially remember two of them, a young couple. She was hysterical, and he tried to calm her down, wiping the tears away from her face. Another man was shouting that a plane had crashed into the Northern Tower, which caused the hysterical woman to cry even more. We were all shocked, and rushed to the windows. All we could see was a big hole in the tower, and tons of black smoke coming out. My first reaction was to call my family, and check if everyone was okay. I got a hold of my mother, who could assure me that they were all fine. She wanted me to get away as quickly as possible, so we immediately started to evacuate the bar and prepare it for closing. I wasn’t really thinking at that time, my mind just told me to finish this so that I could leave. I was afraid that this was a terrorist attack, as some people had claimed, but I was holding on to the thought that is was just an accident.

After the bar was closed and all the employees stood outside, we looked up at the two towers. In that exact moment we could see the second plane crash into the South Tower. The sight has been stuck with me ever since. At that time I realized that this was not a coincidence, and I could feel the nerves taking over my body. I just wanted to go somewhere safe, out of fear that something else could happen. All of the staff decided to leave the area, and go home to our families, so that’s what we did. On my way home I could see all these people crying and hugging each other, which in a way actually warmed my heart a little bit. It was heartbreaking, but at the same time it was nice to see that the country came together as one when something terrible happened.

Leave a Reply

